top of page

The Parallel Space


11 Oct. 2017

Performance

@HKU Pastoe (Room0.18)

{Edwin Zwakman Workshop}

[Concept]

With the performance I did in Edwin Zwakman’s workshop, I realized the craziness my grandfather has been called can turn into the concept of parallel space which can apply to the form of understanding reality. Moreover the use of parallel space in my performance opens up my possibility to the research that allows me to stay in a calm state and also be able to shift my thinking about death. I developed my way of grieving which helps me escape from the only instructions that been told from my family of how to live with loss.



[Practice]

I set up a scene to express the notion of parallel space through visual with a red fabric whose colour seemed to had been used before. One end of the fabric with my phone on the chair, the other end is where I was sitting while translating the audio of what my grandfather said simultaneously. The audio is about him explaining how my grandmother was going to come back. While translating I had a feeling of connecting, distance from the phone to me, the space in the middle, something is happening.

That moment I started to realize I am also in a reality.

Concept

Performer

Audio Editing

Directing

Documentation/ Editing : Tammie Kang

Recent Posts
bottom of page